Imran’s reputation tarnished, confidence vote in Parliament fell by 178 votes

New Delhi date 06 March 2021, Saturday

Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan has won a majority in Parliament. He won a no-confidence motion in Parliament on Saturday. Imran Khan’s party received 178 votes.

The defeat of Finance Minister Abdul Hafeez Sheikh in the Senate elections in Pakistan forced the Imran Khan government to bring a no-confidence motion in Parliament. Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi moved the motion in Parliament when 178 votes were cast in favor of Imran Khan.

The opposition had earlier announced a boycott of Parliament during the vote on the no-confidence motion. However, it was a relief for Imran Khan. Before the no-confidence motion was tabled, Imran Khan asked his MPs to follow the party’s line, stating that they would respect any decision taken in a no-confidence vote. If they lose in this, they are ready to sit in the opposition. The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has 157 members in the 342-member Parliament.

Back to top button